Topend Sports Logo

AFL Clubs

The original clubs of the VFL were Collingwood, South Melbourne, Essendon, Melbourne, Fitzroy, Geelong, St. Kilda and Carlton. Over time there have been teams added to this list.

Currently the AFL is comprised of 18 teams, with the Gold Coast Suns joining the competition in 2011, a team from Western Sydney in 2012, and an AFL team from Tasmania in 2028.

List of VFL/ AFL Teams, past and present

Click on the team name for more information about each club.

Current teams

Team Name Nickname
Adelaide Crows
Brisbane Lions
Carlton Blues
Collingwood Magpies
Essendon Bombers
Fremantle Dockers
Geelong Cats
Greater Western Sydney Giants
Gold Coast Suns
Hawthorn Hawks
North Melborne Kangaroos
Melbourne Demons
Port Adelaide Power
Richmond Tigers
St Kilda Saints
Sydney Swans
Tasmania Devils
West Coast Eagles
Western Bulldogs Bulldogs

Past Teams

Team Name Nickname
Fitzroy Lions
Brisbane Bears

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Sport Extra

Check out the 800+ sports in the Encyclopedia of Every Sport. Well not every sport, as there is a list of unusual sports, extinct sports and newly created sports. How to get on these lists? See What is a sport? We also have sports winners lists, and about major sports events and a summary of every year.

 → How to Cite