Topend Sports Logo

Western Bulldogs

The Western Bulldogs was formerly known as the Footscray Football Club. They have won two VFL/AFL premierships, in 1954 and 2016, and was runner up in 1961.

Bulldogs game in perth Bulldogs game in perth
  Western Bulldogs Football Club
nickname: Bulldogs
mascot: bulldog
club colors: blue, red, white
first season: 1925
home ground: Docklands Stadium
city base: Melbourne, Victoria
premierships (men): 1954 (Footscray), 2016 (Western Bulldogs)
premierships (women): 2018
Brownlow medalists:
  • Allan Hopkins (1930)
  • Norm Ware (1941)
  • Peter Box (1956)
  • John Schultz (1960)
  • Gary Dempsey (1975)
  • Kelvin Templeton (1980)
  • Brad Hardie (1985)
  • Tony Liberatore (1990)
  • Scott Wynd (1992)
  • Adam Cooney (2008)
wooden spoons: 1959, 1967, 1982, 2003

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Sport Extra

Check out the 800+ sports in the Encyclopedia of Every Sport. Well not every sport, as there is a list of unusual sports, extinct sports and newly created sports. How to get on these lists? See What is a sport? We also have sports winners lists, and about major sports events and a summary of every year.

 → How to Cite