Topend Sports Logo


Sewans mascot swans mascot


  Sydney Swans
history: The VFL football club South Melbourne were relocated to Sydney to become the Sydney Swans, and becoming the first team located outside of the traditional home of AFL Victoria.
nickname: Swans, Bloods
mascot: Swan (bird)
club colors: red and white
first season: 1897
home ground: Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG), Stadium Australia (ANZ Stadium)
city base: Sydney, New South Wales
premierships (men): 1909, 1918, 1933, 2005, 2012
premierships (women): none
Brownlow medalists:
  • Herb Matthews (1940)
  • Rob Clegg (1949)
  • Fred Goldsmith (1955)
  • Bob Skilton (1959, 63, 68)
  • Peter Bedford (1970)
  • Graham Teasdale (1977)
  • Barry Round (1981)
  • Greg Williams (1986)
  • Gerard Healy (1988)
  • Paul Kelly (1995)
  • Adam Goodes (2003, 2006)
wooden spoons: 1903, 1922, 1938-39 (2), 1962, 1971, 1973, 1975, 1992-94 (3)


Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Sport Extra

Check out the 800+ sports in the Encyclopedia of Every Sport. Well not every sport, as there is a list of unusual sports, extinct sports and newly created sports. How to get on these lists? See What is a sport? We also have sports winners lists, and about major sports events and a summary of every year.

 → How to Cite