Topend Sports

Women's Soccer World Cup Canada 2015

The 7th FIFA Women's World Cup was held in Canada. The event was held from 6 June to 5 July 2015. The winners were the USA, beating Japan 5-2, avenging their loss to Japan on penalties in the 2011 final.

US 5: Carli Lloyd 3,5,16, Lauren Holiday 14, Tobin Heath 54
Japan 2: Yuki Ogimi 27, Julie Johnston 52og

Participating Teams

Canada automatically qualified as the host nation. All other nations started qualification in their confederations in 2014. There was a total of 24 teams competing in these World Cup finals, increasing from 16 previously to 24, with the number of matches increasing from 32 to 52.

Qualified Teams

Australia, Brazil, Cameroon, Canada, China PR, Colombia,  Costa Rica,  England,  France,  Germany, Ivory Coast,  Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, and the United States.


Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

FIFA World Cup Extra

The current men's World Cup is being held in Qatar 2022, the next women's world cup will be in Australia/New Zealand 2023. See more firsts and other trivia, a quiz, and also information about each country at the World Cup. Most importantly, who are the winners?

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite