Topend Sports Logo

2016 World T20 in India

The 2016 edition of the tournament was held from 8 March to 3 April in India. It was the sixth time the tournament had been held. The entire tournament included 16 teams playing a total 35 matches.

The tournament featured 16 teams (for the 2nd time) - all ten full ICC members joined by six associate members that qualified through the 2015 ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier. Oman made its debut in the tournament.

Full Members: India, Australia, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Bangladesh, Zimbabwe

Qualifiers: Scotland, Netherlands, Ireland, Hong Kong, Afghanistan, Oman

As was the case in 2014, the tournament was divided into three stages. First the eight lowest-ranked teams played off, with the top two joining the eight highest-ranked teams in the Super 10 stage, which consisted of 2 groups of 5, with the top 2 of each group progressing to the knock-out semi-finals then final.

The winners were the West Indies, who won by four wickets over England in a thrilling final, to win their second World Twenty20 title. The final was played at Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite