Topend Sports Logo

2014 T20 World Cup in Bangladesh

The 2014 edition of the T20 World Cup was held from March 16 to April 6 in Bangladesh. It was the fifth time the tournament had been held. The entire tournament included 62 total matches, with 35 men’s and 27 women’s matches played across Chittagong, Dhaka and Sylhet in the 22-day tournament.

There were 16 men's teams for the first time (all previous tournaments had 12 teams). Six associate member teams came through a qualifying tournament to join the ten full-member IOC teams. The qualifying teams were Ireland, Afghanistan, Nepal, United Arab Emirates, Netherlands, and Hong Kong.

The tournament consisted of a group stage, then Super 10. The top 8 ranked teams went straight to the Super 10 stage. The other 8 teams played the first round in two groups of four, with the top of each group progressing to the Super 10. The Super 10 stage consisted of 2 groups of 5, with the top 2 of each group progressing to the knock-out semi-finals.

The winners of the men's tournament were Sri Lanka, who won by 6 wickets over India. The final was played in Sher-e-Bangla Stadium.


Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite