Topend Sports Logo

FIFA Ranking Awards: Team of the Year & Mover of the Year

Since 1993, FIFA has presented annually the FIFA Team of the Year and the Best Mover of the Year awards, both based on the FIFA team rankings for the men's national teams. It is a complex formula to calculate FIFA's rankings. Below is the complete list of the winners for each year.

Team of the Year

The Team of the Year is awarded to the men's national team that finishes on top of the FIFA World Rankings at the conclusion of each year. The overall score is based on factors such as the importance of each match played, the strength of the opposition and their confederation.

In 2000 and 2001, a different scoring system was used for the Team of the Year Award -  it was given to the team with the highest average points score in their seven best matches of the year. In 2000 the award was given in The Netherlands even though Brazil finished on top of the FIFA World Rankings at the conclusion of the year. In 2001, Honduras won the award, while France finished on top of the rankings. In the table below, the team finishing at the top of the rankings is listed for consistency with the other years.

In 2013, for the sixth year in a row, Spain was awarded the team of the year. Brazil holds the record of seven consecutive wins between 1994 and 2000. In 2022, Brazil returned to the top of the rankings.

Mover of the Year

The calculation to determine the mover of the year takes into consideration how far the team rises in the world rankings, as well as the difficulty of moving up the rankings as the team nears the top of the table.

From 1993 until 2006, an official Best Mover Award was given to the coach of the winning national football team at the annual FIFA World Player Gala award ceremony. Since 2006, there has been no official award given, but the best mover for each year is still calculated and is listed below.

year Team of the Year Mover of the Year
2023 Argentina Panama
2022 Brazil Morocco
2021 Belgium Canada
2020 Belgium Hungary
2019 Belgium Qatar
2018 Belgium France
2017 Germany Denmark
2016 Argentina France
2015 Belgium Turkey
2014 Germany Germany
2013 Spain Ukraine
2012 Spain Colombia
2011 Spain Wales
2010 Spain Netherlands
2009 Spain Brazil and Algeria
2008 Spain Spain
2007 Argentina Mozambique
2006 Brazil Italy
2005 Brazil Ghana
2004 Brazil China
2003 Brazil Bahrain
2002 Brazil Senegal
2001 France * Costa Rica
2000 Brazil * Nigeria
1999 Brazil Slovenia
1998 Brazil Croatia
1997 Brazil Yugoslavia
1996 Brazil South Africa
1995 Brazil Jamaica
1994 Brazil Croatia
1993 Germany Colombia

* in 2000 and 2001, a different scoring system was used and the Netherlands and Honduras were actually presented with the award in these years.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

More Football

Football (some call it soccer) is the world's most popular sport. There are many major football tournaments, the pinnacle is the FIFA World Cup. See a calendar of what is coming up. There have been many legends of the game, particularly winners of the Ballon d'Or. For players, there are articles about Football Fitness and Fitness Testing.

Sport Extra

Check out the 800+ sports in the Encyclopedia of Every Sport. Well not every sport, as there is a list of unusual sports, extinct sports and newly created sports. How to get on these lists? See What is a sport? We also have sports winners lists, and about major sports events and a summary of every year.

 → How to Cite