Equestrian Jumping at the Olympics

Jumping, along with Eventing and Dressage, are the three events that are contested as a part of the equestrian discipline during the Olympics. There are currently two codes of Jumping events, Individual Jumping and Team Jumping. Individual jumping was introduced in the second Olympics in 1900. After a break, it made another appearance in 1912, and was a permanently included from 1920.  The team jumping event was initially introduced in 1912 and was also permanently included from 1920.

The event has changed considerably from its initial format to what it is now. A time limit to complete the course was added in 1928 Amsterdam Olympics. The scoring system, height of the obstacles, and the number of obstacles has also been changed over the years.

In the initial few Olympics, Sweden won the team jumping gold medal three consecutive times. Since then, Germany has been the most consistent country, winning the gold medal seven different times. The United States had their share of success recently by winning gold medal for the team event in 2004 and 2008. In 1932, the event witnessed a one of a kind result, where no medals were awarded, since none of the team was able to complete the course.

Equestrian Jumping Equestrian Jumping

There has been a lot of parity in the individual jumping event where several countries have won the gold medal. France and Germany however has a slight edge with four gold medals each.


Related Pages


Olympics Extra

The next Olympics will be the 2021 Tokyo Olympic Games, followed by the Winter Olympics 2022 in Beijing. Check out the list of Olympic Games sports, as well as discontinued and demonstration sports.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

How to Cite