Equestrian Dressage at the Olympics

Dressage, along with Eventing and Jumping, are the three events that are contested as a part of the equestrian discipline during the Olympics. There are currently two codes of dressage events, Individual dressage and Team dressage, conducted during the Olympics. Individual dressage was introduced during the 1912 Stockholm Olympics and team dressage was introduced later in 1928.

The current tests conducted for dressage has changed significantly from the past. During the initial Olympic competitions, three tests were required for the event, a test on the flat, a jumping test, and an obedience test.

In current Olympics, the jumping test has been completely eliminated, and the difficulty level for the test on flat has been significantly increased. The format in which the competitions were conducted also changed from the 1948 Olympics.

The Germans have dominated the team dressage event since it was introduced in 1928 winning the gold medal 11 out of 19 times, which includes a streak of six consecutive gold medals from 1984 to 2008. The individual dressage event was a strong hold of Sweden during the initial years, followed by Germans who won four straight gold medals from 1984 to 1996. Currently the Netherlands has a hold on individual dressage event, where Anky van Grunsven has won the gold medal in 2000, 2004 and 2008.


Related Pages

Popular Content


Olympics Extra

The next Olympics will be the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games, followed by the Winter Olympics 2022 in Beijing. Check out the list of olympic sports, as well as discontinued and demonstration sports.

How to Cite