Topend Sports Logo

2015 Netball World Cup

The 2015 Netball World Cup was held in Sydney from Aug 7 to 16, 2015. It was the 14th staging of the championships. As always, Australia and New Zealand will go into the tournament as favorites. 16 nations will compete, including the top six teams from 2011.

Host bids came from Sydney, Australia and Manchester, UK. The successful bidding nation was announced at the 2011 World Netball Championships in Singapore.

The top six nations based on INF ranking system (as of July 1 2014) automatically qualified. These teams were Australia, New Zealand, England, Jamaica, Malawi and South Africa. Additionally, two teams were selected via qualifiers from each of the five international netball regions (Africa, Americas, Asia, Europe and Oceania)

QUALIFIERS: Australia, New Zealand, England, Jamaica, Malawi, South Africa, Wales, Scotland, Fiji, Samoa, Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Uganda and Zambia.

All matches will be played at the Allphones Arena (formerly the "Sydney SuperDome") in Sydney Olympic Park.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite