Topend Sports Logo

2007 World T20 in South Africa

The inaugural International Cricket Council (ICC) World Twenty20 Tournament was played in South Africa in 2007, starting at the Wanderers ground, Johannesburg on Tuesday, 11 September 2007.

This was the first time that the Twenty20 format of the game was played on a truly global scale.

The 2007 tournament comprised the 10 Test-playing nations plus Kenya and Scotland who qualified by finishing first and second in the 2007 WCL Division One. In the group stage the 12 teams were divided into four groups of three. The top two teams from these groups went through to the second stage of the tournament, the Super Eight. These eight teams played in two groups of four. The two top teams from each Super Eight group qualified for the knock-out semi-finals.

The competition involved 12 nations, played over 13 days. The participating teams were put into four groups of three.

The tournament was played in three venues around the country; the Wanderers (Johannesburg), Kingsmead (Durban) and Newlands (Cape Town).

The first match was between the hosts, South Africa and the West Indies. The tournament ran from September 11 to September 24, 2007. The final was also held at the Wanderers on Heritage Day, Monday, 24 September 2007.

The 2007 ICC World Twenty20 was won by India, defeating Pakistan by five runs in the final held at the at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg.


Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite