Topend Sports Logo

T20 World Cup History

The first edition of this international t20 tournament was in South Africa in 2007. This first edition of the tournament was referred to as the ICC World Twenty20, the addition of the term World Cup was not added to the name until the next event in 2009.

India beat Pakistan in a thriller to win the first Twenty20 tournament in 2007. At the second tournament, held in England, Pakistan went on to defeat Sri Lanka. In 2010 England became the third World Twenty20 champions, defeating Australia in the West Indies.

The next three tournaments were hosted by Aisan countries, Sri Lanka 2012, Bangladesh 2014 and India 2016.

There was no tournament in 2018, then the 2020 tournament was postponed. Consequently, there was a five-year gap between the 2016 tournament and the current tournament being held in 2021 in UAE and Oman (which was moved from India).

The West Indies are the only team to have won the tournament more than once.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite