Striker of the Year Winner's List

The Striker of the Year Award is a new award presented as part of the Ballon d'Or awards. The striker of the year is awarded the Gerd Muller Trophy. This award was first presented in 2021, as was the Club of the Year Award.

The two new awards were introduced by France Football, the French sports monthly which awards the Ballon d'Or.

Robert Lewandowski was named the inaugural Striker of the Year in 2021 as the top scorer for both his La Liga club Barcelona and for his country Poland, of which he is the captain. Lewandowski was the favorite to win the 2020 Ballon d'Or which was not awarded due to the coronavirus pandemic disruption to the football calendar.

Lewandowski again won Striker of the Year in 2022.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Sport Extra

Check out the 800+ sports in the Encyclopedia of Every Sport. Well not every sport, as there is a list of unusual sports, extinct sports and newly created sports. How to get on these lists? See What is a sport? We also have sports winners lists, and about major sports events and a summary of every year.

 → How to Cite