AFL Football Kicking Competitions

There have been many versions of the AFL football kicking competition held in the past, featuring players competing for the honor of longest kick, and best accuracy and style. Early last century there were organized competitions for kicking distance. For example, in 1928, Melbourne's Sporting Globe newspaper held a national distance kicking competition, with a prize of 25 pounds to anyone who could kick the furthest place, drop and punt kick. On the World of Sport TV show on channel 7 a kicking competition ran for 10 years from 1964. A kicking competition returned in 2002, with players competing in an accuracy competition on Grand Final day, and returning in 2015. A goal kicking and kicking efficiency assessment has also been added to the AFL Combine.

World of Sport's Champion Kick Competitions

A kicking competition was regularly held as part of the Channel 7's World of Sport program in Victoria in the 1960s and 1970s. One such competition was the The Craven Filter champion kick of Australia conducted from 1967 - 1971, though based on details found online there must have been competitions held in other years.

The Craven Filter champion kick of Australia was a kicking competition conducted on the World of Sport program from 1967 - 1971, designed to find the 'champion kick in Australian football'. The competition began with a series of qualifying heats in each of the four major football states (Vic, SA, WA, Tas), with a finals series in Melbourne featuring the four state champions.

In the Champion Kick Competition, players were required to execute a range of kicks, and were assessed in terms of their accuracy, style and (with the exception of the stab pass) distance. Each competition consisted of stab passing about 25 meters at a roughly 6 foot round target similar to an Archery target; complete with bulls eye. Then there was goal kicking and distance kicks; using both drop kicks and punt kicks.

champion kickWinners

The South Australian and Victorian representatives occupied the first two places in the Craven Filter champion kick of Australia competition every year. The winner received a $1,000 prize.

More Random Notes

Longest Kick, 1993

Essendon's Dustin Fletcher won the competition as an 18-year-old

2002 Grand Final Kicking Competition

The 2002 TXU AFL Grand Final Sharpshooter kicking Competition was conducted at 12.25pm prior to the Grand Final match, after the sprint heats. The event was designed to determine who was the AFL's most accurate kick for goal under pressure and with time constraints. The event was conducted over two heats and a final. Four current AFL players were invited by the AFL to compete on behalf of themselves and their club.

Event Description


The competitors were: heat 1 - Fremantle's Trent Croad and Melbourne's David Neitz, Heat 2 - Carlton's Corey McKernan and Port Adelaide's Stuart Dew. Trent Croad was the winner, beating Neitz in the first round then Dew in the final. Croad knocked out Neitz in the first heat, scoring 105 points to the Melbourne skipper's 80, and followed up in the final with an even better 120 points against Dew, who could manage only 85 points. The winner collected three $5000 cheques - one for themselves, one for their club and one to be given to charity.

2015 Fox Footy's Longest Kick Competition

The inaugural Foxtel AFL Longest Kick Competition was held in Grand Final day, 3rd Oct 2015. Participants had two attempts to kick the ball 75m across Melbourne's Yarra River, the winner to pocket $10,000 prize money.


  1. Drew Petrie (North Melbourne) 60.4m
  2. Travis Cloke (Collingwood) 55.0m
  3. Alex Rance (Richmond) 49.8m
  4. Jake Stringer (Western Bulldogs) 49.4m
  5. Matthew Pavlich (Fremantle) 48.m
  6. Brendan Fevola (ex-Carlton and Brisbane) 48.8m
  7. Tom Hawkins (Geelong) 44.6m
  8. David Armitage (St Kilda) 44.2m
  9. Bernie Vince (Melbourne) 42.8m
  10. Jonathan Simpkin (Hawthorn) 40.4m
  11. Taylor Walker (Adelaide) 40.2m
  12. Dustin Fletcher (Essendon) 36.1m

2016 Fox Footy's Longest Kick Competition

In the lead up to the day, a wildcard competition was held, with Brisbane left-footer James Pennycuick booting a 73.9m torpedo to secure his place in the Grand Final Day competition.


  1. Bryce Gibbs (Carlton) 72.3m
  2. Bernie Vince (Melbourne) 69.2m
  3. Alex Rance (Richmond) 66.5m
  4. James Pennycuick (Wildcard Winner) 62.8m
  5. Brodie Grundy (Collingwood) 62.2m
  6. Jonathon Patton (GWS Giants) 59.6m
  7. Taylor Walker (Adelaide) 59.3m
  8. Tom Hawkins (Geelong) 58.8m
  9. Leigh Montagna (St Kilda) 52.7m
  10. Grant Birchall (Hawthorn) 50.2m
  11. Drew Petrie (North Melbourne) 49.9m
  12. Tayla Harris (Brisbane)

2017 Fox Footy's Longest Kick Competition

All players had two kick attempts as per previous years, then additionally the top four having one more attempt. The winning prize was $10,000, won by ex-Carlton and ex-Brisbane player Brendan Fevola. There were eight AFL players, a couple of AFLW players and one wildcard winner (same as last year) James Pennycuick.

  1. 66.1m Brendan Fevola (ex-Carlton, ex-Brisbane)
  2. 64.7m Dustin Flectcher (ex-Essendon)
  3. 59.7m Matt Suckling (Western Bulldogs)
  4. 59.4m Bryce Gibbs (Carlton)
  5. 57.6m Josh Kennedy (WCE)
  6. 57.3m James Pennycuick (Wildcard)
  7. 55.7m Josh Kelly (GWS Giants)
  8. 55.5m Ben Brown (North Melbourne)
  9. 55.4m Jayden Hunt (Melbourne)
  10. 51.5m Sarah Perkins (Adelaide)
  11. 47.2m Katie Brennan (Western Bulldogs)


Related Pages