Topend Sports Logo

Most Valuable Player (MVP) Winners

The MPV award is given to the most valuable player in the Super Bowl final. The award is currently decided by a fan vote during the game (20%) and by a panel of 16 American football writers and broadcasters who vote after the game (80%). Quarterbacks have won the award more than 50% of the time. See more Super Bowl MVP Trivia.

Game Year Most Valuable Player Notes
LVIII 2024 Patrick Mahomes Kansas City Chiefs quarterback
LVII 2023 Patrick Mahomes Kansas City Chiefs quarterback
LVI 2022 Cooper Kupp wide receiver, LA Rams
LV 2021 Tom Brady Quarterback for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers
LIV 2020 Patrick Mahomes Kansas City Chiefs quarterback
LIII 2019 Julian Edelman Wide receiver for the New England Patriots
LII 2018 Nick Foles Quarterback for the Philadelphia Eagles
LI 2017 Tom Brady Quarterback for the New England Patriots
L 2016 Von Miller outside linebacker for the Denver Broncos
XLIX 2015 Tom Brady Quarterback for the New England Patriots
XLVIII 2014 Malcolm Smith Linebacker for the Seattle Seahawks
XLVII 2013 Joe Flacco Quarterback for the Baltimore Ravens
XLVI 2012 Eli Manning Quarterback for the NY Giants
XLV 2011 Aaron Rodgers Quarterback for the Green Bay Packers
XLIV 2010 Drew Brees Quarterback for New Orleans Saints
XLIII 2009 Santonio Holmes Wide receiver
XLII 2008 Eli Manning Quarterback
XLI 2007 Peyton Manning Quarterback
XL 2006 Hines Ward Wide receiver
XXXIX 2005 Deion Branch Wide receiver
XXXVIII 2004 Tom Brady Quarterback
XXXVII 2003 Dexter Jackson Safety
XXXVI 2002 Tom Brady Quarterback
XXXV 2001 Ray Lewis Linebacker
XXXIV 2000 Kurt Warner Quarterback
XXXIII 1999 John Elway Quarterback
XXXII 1998 Terrell Davis Running back
XXXI 1997 Desmond Howard Kick returner/punt returner
XXX 1996 Larry Brown Cornerback
XXIX 1995 Steve Young Quarterback
XXVIII 1994 Emmitt Smith Running back
XXVII 1993 Troy Aikman Quarterback
XXVI 1992 Mark Rypien Quarterback
XXV 1991 Ottis Anderson Running back
XXIV 1990 Joe Montana Quarterback. his record third MVP
XXIII 1989 Jerry Rice Wide receiver
XXII 1988 Doug Williams Quarterback
XXI 1987 Phil Simms Quarterback
XX 1986 Richard Dent Defensive end
XIX 1985 Joe Montana Quarterback
XVIII 1984 Marcus Allen Running back
XVII 1983 John Riggins Running back
XVI 1982 Joe Montana Quarterback
XV 1981 Jim Plunkett Quarterback
XIV 1980 Terry Bradshaw Quarterback
XIII 1979 Terry Bradshaw Quarterback
XII 1978 Randy White, Harvey Martin the only co-winners. White was Defensive tackle, Martin Defensive end
XI 1977 Fred Biletnikoff Wide receiver
X 1976 Lynn Swann Wide receiver
IX 1975 Franco Harris Running back
VIII 1974 Larry Csonka Running back
VII 1973 Jake Scott Safety
VI 1972 Roger Staubach Quarterback
V 1971 Chuck Howley Linebacker. The only player from a losing team to be named MVP
IV 1970 Len Dawson Quarterback
III 1969 Joe Namath Quarterback
II 1968 Bart Starr Quarterback
I 1967 Bart Starr Quarterback

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite