Modern Pentathlon at the Olympics

Modern pentathlon has been on the Olympic program since the 1912 Stockholm Games. The sport was created by French baron Pierre de Coubertin, the founder of the modern Olympic movement, and combines five events held over two days (more recently over one day). These events combine all of the aspects of traditional combat: mastery of the sword, precision marksmanship, ability to control cavalry both in the confines of the arena and in the cross-country, and the physical stamina to cross many miles of both land and water.

The events are:




Ancient Pentathlon

The name modern pentathon was used to distinguish it from the Pentathlon, which was an ancient Greek athletics event consisting of five competitions each representing techniques useful in battle. (more about ancient Olympic events)

The five events of the ancient Pentathlon were:


Related Pages


Olympics Extra

The next Olympics will be the 2021 Tokyo Olympic Games, followed by the Winter Olympics 2022 in Beijing. Check out the list of Olympic Games sports, as well as discontinued and demonstration sports.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

How to Cite