Boxing at the Olympic Games

Boxing has been held at every Summer Olympic Games since it first appeared in 1904, except for in 1912 in Stockholm as Swedish law banned the sport at the time.

In 2009, the IOC voted to include women's boxing at the 2012 London Games, so now there are men and women competing in all Olympic sports.

2016 Boxing Events

Women's boxing, which was introduced to the Olympic program in 2012, remained with just three weight classes. In the men's division, the Featherweight weight was dropped in 2012 and the weight limits adjusted for Fly and Bantam classes, leaving 10 weight classes from light flyweight to super-heavyweight. For the female boxers, the three weight divisions are flyweight, lightweight and middleweight. The male boxing bouts are contested over three 3-minute rounds, female bouts are four 2-minute rounds.

Tokyo 2020 will see the women's elite boxing tournament extended from three to five weight classes for the first time.

men weight classes women weight classes
  • light flyweight 49kg
  • flyweight 52kg
  • bantamweight 56kg
  • lightweight 60kg
  • light welterweight 64kg
  • welter weight 69kg
  • middleweight 75 kg
  • light heavyweight 81kg
  • heavyweight 91kg
  • super heavyweight +91 kg
  • flyweight 51kg
  • lightweight 60kg
  • middleweight 75kg

boxerOlympic Games Boxing Trivia

Related Pages