World Boxing Championships

The World Boxing Championship, organized by the International Boxing Association (AIBA), is a biennial amateur boxing competition. It was formerly known as the World Amateur Boxing Championship.

The championship started in 1974 Havana, Cuba as a men’s only sport but later opened up for women 25 years later in 2001. The competitions are hosted separately with the men’s and women’s occurring in alternating years.

At first, there were 12 different categories. In 2003 the light middleweight division (~71 kg) was eliminated. In 2011, the featherweight division (~57 kg) was removed. The remaining categories are flyweight (~49 kg), bantamweight, lightweight, light welterweight, welterweight, middleweight, light heavyweight, heavyweight , and super heavyweight.

This boxing match is scored round by round. The fighter with the most points win. Each time an opponent is knocked down, they lose a point. Immediate victories are determined by a complete knock out.

The competition uses medals to award participants. Currently, Russia has dominated this competition by winning the most medals, their women are ranked first while the men are ranked second. 

Interesting Fact: This competition is considered to be a fight that determines the elite fighters of the world.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

More Boxing

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite