United Arab Republic at the Olympics

United Arab Republic (country code - RAU) was a union between Egypt and Syria, which only lasted for only the 1960 Olympic Games. Although the Republic was made up of two countries, the majority of competitors were from Egypt. There were 74 competitors, winning one silver and one bronze medal. In 1964 and 1968, the Egyptian team competed under the name United Arab Republic.

Related Pages

Popular Pages


Olympics Extra

The next Olympics will be the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games, followed by the Winter Olympics 2022 in Beijing. Check out the list of olympic sports, as well as discontinued and demonstration sports.

How to Cite