Topend Sports Logo

Asian Cup Winners

Here are the winners of each year the Asian Cup has been held since the first in 1956. In the first four years that the event was held the winner was decided by a round-robin format.

Japan has been the most successful nation with four wins (1992, 2000, 2004, 2011).

Year Winner Runner Up Score
2019 Qatar Japan 3-1
2015 Australia South Korea 2-1 aet
2011 Japan Australia 1–0 aet
2007 Iraq Saudi Arabia 1–0
2004 Japan China 3–1
2000 Japan Saudi Arabia 1–0
1996 Saudi Arabia United Arab Emirates 0–0 aet, (4–2) pen
1992 Japan Saudi Arabia 1–0
1988 Saudi Arabia South Korea 0–0 aet, (4–3) pen
1984 Saudi Arabia China 2–0
1980 Kuwait South Korea 3–0
1976 Iran Kuwait 1–0
1972 Iran South Korea 2–1 aet
1968 Iran Burma  
1964 Israel India  
1960 South Korea Israel  
1956 South Korea Israel  

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

More Football

Football (some call it soccer) is the world's most popular sport. There are many major football tournaments, the pinnacle is the FIFA World Cup. See a calendar of what is coming up. There have been many legends of the game, particularly winners of the Ballon d'Or. For players, there are articles about Football Fitness and Fitness Testing.

 → How to Cite