Topend Sports Logo

2017 Baseball World Classic

The 2017 Baseball World Classic was the 4th time the tournament was held. It was held from March 9 to 22, 2017. Of the 16 teams participating, two made their first appearance in the World Baseball Classic: Colombia and Israel. Dominican Republic were the defending champions from 2013. The participating teams were: Canada, China, Chinese, Cuba, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Puerto Rico, South Korea, United States, Venezuela, Australia, Mexico, Colombia, and Israel.

There were multiple host countries: Japan, Mexico, South Korea and United States. The first-round hosts were Tokyo, Seoul, Miami, and Guadalajara. The second round hosts were Tokyo and San Diego, and the championship round was played in Los Angeles.

The Netherlands, Japan, Puerto Rico, and the USA advanced to the championship round. The United States defeated Puerto Rico to win the championship game, 8–0.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite