Topend Sports

Women's Ballon d'Or (Ballon d'Or Féminin)

The Ballon d'Or award (in French the Ballon d'Or Féminin) is an annual football award for the best player over the previous year. The men's award was first awarded in 1956. The first women's Ballon d'Or award was presented in 2018 (and none in 2020). There is also the FIFA female player of the year.

2022 Award

The 20 nominees for the 2022 Ballon d'Or Féminin award were announced in August. The ceremony announcing the winners was held on October 17. Spanish midfielder  Alexia Putellas won her second award, ahead of Arsenal's Beth Mead with Chelsea's Sam Kerr third.

List of Women's Ballon d'Or (Ballon d'Or Féminin) award winners

year player Nationality club
2022 Alexia Putellas Spain Barcelona
2021 Alexia Putellas Spain Barcelona
2020 not awarded
2019 Megan Rapinoe USA Reign FC
2018 Ada Hegerberg Norway Olympique Lyonnais

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Sport Extra

Check out the 800+ sports in the Encyclopedia of Every Sport. Well not every sport, as there is a list of unusual sports, extinct sports and newly created sports. How to get on these lists? See What is a sport? We also have sports winners lists, and about major sports events and a summary of every year.

 → How to Cite