Topend Sports Logo

Kopa Trophy

The Kopa Trophy is an annual football award for the world's best young men's player from the previous season. The award presented by France Football  is named after former French footballer Raymond Kopa, the winner of the 1958 Ballon d'Or.

The Kopa Trophy award is open for players under the age of 21. The first award was presented in 2018 (and none in 2020).

The award is voted on by former Ballon d'Or winners, giving their top-3 selections. The three players voted by each jurors are assigned 5, 3 and 1 points. In case of a tie, the players are ordered according to the number of first place votes, then second place votes.

List of Kopa Trophy winners

year player Nationality Club
2023 Jude Bellingham England Borussia Dortmund
2022 Gavi Spain Barcelona
2021 Pedri Spain Barcelona
2020 not awarded
2019 Matthijs de Ligt Netherlands Juventus
2018 Kylian Mbappé France Paris Saint-Germain

There is a similar young player award given by sports journalists, the Golden Boy Award, which is only open to those who play in a European nation's top tier team, and is based on performance over the previous calendar year.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

More Football

Football (some call it soccer) is the world's most popular sport. There are many major football tournaments, the pinnacle is the FIFA World Cup. See a calendar of what is coming up. There have been many legends of the game, particularly winners of the Ballon d'Or. For players, there are articles about Football Fitness and Fitness Testing.

Sport Extra

Check out the 800+ sports in the Encyclopedia of Every Sport. Well not every sport, as there is a list of unusual sports, extinct sports and newly created sports. How to get on these lists? See What is a sport? We also have sports winners lists, and about major sports events and a summary of every year.

 → How to Cite