Rob's Sports, Fitness & Science Blog

Topend Sports

Australia’s greatest one-day cricket team

February 27th, 2007 · No Comments · Cricket

Although it is a time to celebrate one-day cricket with the upcoming World Cup, Australia has had nothing to celebrate in the short version of the game lately. Maybe that is why they have decided to release a list of Australia’s greatest ODI team. The team was selected by a vote of Australia’s 163 ODI representatives since 1971.

The team they came up with is: Adam Gilchrist (wk), Mark Waugh, Ricky Ponting, Dean Jones, Steve Waugh (captain), Michael Bevan, Andrew Symonds, Shane Warne, Brett Lee, Dennis Lillee, Glenn McGrath, Greg Chappell (12th man).

the MCG

With such a strong history in the game, it is no surprise that great players missed the cut, such as Allan Border, who led Australia to their first World Cup in 1987, and Michael Hussey, who currently averages 66.88 in his 61 matches. Two of the players listed, Lee and Symonds, are current players but will probably be missing in the upcoming World Cup due to injury, and will be sorely missed. The other players that are in the current squad are Gilchrist, Ponting and McGrath.

Related Pages: cricket, Cricket World Cup


Search This Site


 → How to Cite