Women's Soccer World Cup Germany 2011

The 6th FIFA Women's World Cup was held in Germany in 2011. They won the right to host the event in October 2007. The event was held between June 27 - July 17, 2011. The winners were Japan, who beat the US in a penalty shoot-out, following a 2 all tie after extra time. Japan became the first Asian team to win a FIFA World Cup.

The Competing Countries

Two-time defending World Champions Germany automatically qualified as the host nation. All other nations started qualification in their confederations in 2010. There were a total of sixteen teams competing in the finals.

Here are all 16 competing countries:



Related Pages

Popular Content


FIFA World Cup Extra

The next World Cup will be in Qatar 2022, the first to be played in the winter time. See more firsts and other trivia, and also information about each country at the World Cup.

How to Cite