Aquatics at the Olympics

At the Olympics Games, the sporting discipline of Aquatics, which includes the sports of swimming, diving, synchronized swimming and water polo, is regulated by the International Swimming Federation (FINA), the international federation for aquatic sports. Swimming has been contested at every summer Olympic Games, the others being introduced at later dates. When categorizing the sports and counting the number of sports participating at each Olympics, these four sports are counted as one - Aquatics.

Swimming - one of five sports that have been contested at every summer Olympic Games since 1896.

Water Polo - has been part of the Summer Olympics program since Paris in 1900.

Synchronized Swimming - introduced at the 1984 Olympic Games. A solo event was held from 1984 to 1992. Only women compete in the Synchronized Swimming events at the Olympics.

Diving - first competed at the Olympic Games at the 1904 Olympic Games, and has been an Olympic sport since. Diving events include the 10m platform, 3m springboard individual and synchronized events (all for men and women).


Related Pages

Popular Content


Olympics Extra

The next Olympics will be the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games, followed by the Winter Olympics 2022 in Beijing. Check out the list of olympic sports, as well as discontinued and demonstration sports.

How to Cite