Topend Sports

European Super League

The Super League is a proposed new European competition between 20 top clubs comprised of fifteen founding teams and five annual qualifiers. The competition was created to try and improve the quality of international football, and to provide a boost in income for the teams involved. The tournament is set to rival the UEFA Champions League, and if it goes ahead and is successful, then it might lead to the demise of the Champions League. UEFA, FIFA and the top European leagues have been strongly opposed, obviously. They have threatened sanctions against the clubs and players, and it is yet to be seen how this will play out.

Who Will Play?

The founding teams include many of the big European clubs: AC Milan, Arsenal, Atletico Madrid, Chelsea, Barcelona, Inter Milan, Juventus, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Real Madrid and Tottenham Hotspurs with a few more to be added to the founding team list. The other five teams will qualify based on their achievements in the previous season.

major football eventmajor football event

How Will It Work?

The competition will start with a group stage with twenty teams, with eight clubs qualifying for a knockout tournament, each playing home and away games until the single-match Super League championship. The teams will still play in their domestic seasons, the Super League games played midweek.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

 → How to Cite