FIFA Club World Cup

The FIFA Club World Cup is an annual international men's association football competition involving seven club teams including the champion club team from each confederation along with the host nation's national champions.

The competition was first contested in 2000, then called theĀ FIFA Club World Championship, and held in Brazil. The tournament was not held again until 2005, and has been held annually since.

The tournament teams comprise the winners of that year's AFC Champions League (Asia), CAF Champions League (Africa), CONCACAF Champions League (North America), Copa Libertadores (South America), OFC Champions League (Oceania) and UEFA Champions League (Europe), along with the host nation's national champions.


A new tournament format was planned to start in 2021, and would from then on be held every four years instead of annually. This new format would feature 24 teams, and would include all UEFA Champions League winners, UEFA Champions League runners-up, Europa League winners and Copa Libertadores winners from the four seasons up to and including the year of the event, with the remainder qualifying from the other four confederations.

Unfortunately due to the effects of the coronavirus and a congested football schedule, this expanded tournament did not go ahead, and may happen in 2023 or 2024.


Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

 → How to Cite