Topend Sports Logo

History of the FIFA Club World Cup

The FIFA Club World Cup is an annual international men's association football competition involving club teams from around the world. The competition was first contested in 2000 in Brazil, at the time called the FIFA Club World Championship.

São Paulo's winning trophy from the 2005 FIFA Club World ChampionshipSão Paulo's winning trophy from the 2005 FIFA Club World Championship (officially known as the FIFA Club World Championship Toyota Cup Japan 2005)

After the first tournament in 2000, the tournament was not held again until 2005, and then held annually until 2023. The tournament from 2025 onwards has been revamped, increasing the number of participating teams from 7 to 32, and being held every four years instead of annually.

The new tournament format was planned to start in 2021. Unfortunately, due to the effects of the coronavirus and a congested football schedule, this expanded tournament did not go ahead, and is now expected to happen in 2025.

The inaugural new format edition FIFA Club World cup will be held in June and July, 2025, in the United States. It will be a 32-club men's tournament. The 32 teams will be divided into eight groups of four teams with the top two teams in each group qualifying to the knockout stage. 

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

More Football

Football (some call it soccer) is the world's most popular sport. There are many major football tournaments, the pinnacle is the FIFA World Cup. See a calendar of what is coming up. There have been many legends of the game, particularly winners of the Ballon d'Or. For players, there are articles about Football Fitness and Fitness Testing.

 → How to Cite