Rugby World Cup Sevens

Organized by the International Rugby Board (IRB), the Rugby World Cup Sevens is the premier stand-alone international rugby sevens competition, competed by the national seven teams every four years.

The Melrose Cup is awarded to the winning team of the championship. Melrose Cup is named after a Scottish Town “Melrose”, where the first rugby sevens game was played.

The first ever Rugby World Cups Sevens took place in Scotland, where the rugby sevens was born in 1993.

Members of the IRB felt the need to improve the promotion of the women’s game. In 2009, the IRB implemented the first women’s Rugby World Cup Sevens.

There is a total of 24 men’s team and 16 women’s team.

IRB once stated that the World Cup Sevens was supposed to end so the Olympic Games could be the one high point in a four year cycle for rugby sevens. However following feedback from the members, the IRB announced that the championship would continue and integrated into the Olympic calendar, but the competition will take place every two years from 2016.

IRB announced that the first tournament after the Olympic integration will happen in 2018 entailing a one-off five year gap right after the 2013 tournament.

Related Pages