Topend Sports Logo

The Rugby Championship

The Rugby Championship is one of many events in the international Rugby Union calendar. It is an annual competition between the top four nations in the Southern Hemisphere: Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and Argentina.

The tournament which began in 1996, was known as the Tri Nations until 2012 when Argentina joined the competition, though in 2020 South Africa did not participate Due to COVID-19 and it was again called the Tri Nations. The Six Nations is a similar tournament in the Northern Hemisphere.

In the current format, each team plays every other team twice, on a home-and-away basis.

History and Recent Results

Since 2012, four nations have competed for the title (except in 2020 when Argentina did not compete). Since 2012, the tournament has been dominated by New Zealand, has won most of the tournaments (2012, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2020). Australia won in 2015 and South Africa in 2019.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Rugby World Cup Extra

The next men's Rugby World Cup will be played in France in 2023. See the list of winners, and more firsts and other trivia, and also information about each country at the World Cup. There is also a Women's World Cup.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite