Topend Sports Logo

William Webb Ellis Cup

The prize awarded to the winner of the Rugby World Cup event is a golden cup called the William Webb Ellis Cup, also known as the "The Rugby World Cup", and to many simply as "Bill". The trophy is named after a school boy from Rugby College who supposedly invented the game - which is most likely a myth.

William Webb EllisWilliam Webb Ellis

The cup stands at 38 cm tall and is silver gilded in gold, and supported by two cast scroll handles, one handle has a head of a satyr, and the other has a head of a nymph. Engraved on the face of the cup are the words 'International Rugby Board' and 'William Webb Ellis Cup'. The trophy is currently kept in the Museum of Rugby in London.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Rugby World Cup Extra

The next men's Rugby World Cup will be played in France in 2023. See the list of winners, and more firsts and other trivia, and also information about each country at the World Cup. There is also a Women's World Cup.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite