Topend Sports Logo

Alpine Skiing at the Winter Paralympic Games

Alpine skiing for athletes with a disability has been on the Paralympic program since the first event in 1976. Two alpine skiing events (slalom and giant slalom) were held at the first Paralympic Winter Games in Ornskoldsvik, Sweden, in 1976. In 1984, Downhill skiing was added, and super-G added in 1994.

Up until 1998, the alpine skiing events were only for standing classes. Events for seated skiers (mono-skiing) were introduced at the Nagano 1998 Paralympic Winter Games. Sit-skiing was introduced as a demonstration sport at the Innsbruck 1984 Paralympics and became a medal event at the Nagano 1998 Paralympic Games.

Currently there are  three categories depending on the athlete's type of impairment: sitting, standing and vision impaired.

For the 2014 Games, Para-snowboard was introduced as a discipline of alpine skiing, and became a separate sports category for 2018.

paralympic seated skier Paralympic seated skier

Current Alpine Skiing Events

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Paralympics Extra

The next Summer Paralympics will be in Paris 2024, followed by the 2026 Winter Paralympics. Also, check out the list of Paralympic sports, and top medal winners.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite