Topend Sports Logo

ICC Champions Trophy

The ICC Champions Trophy is a One Day International (ODI) tournament that is coordinated by the International Cricket Council (ICC). The Champions Trophy is second in importance to the Cricket World Cup.

In its first tournament held in Bangladesh in 1998, the Champions Trophy was introduced as the ICC Knock Out Tournament. It has been played roughly every two years since 2002, when the title of the competition was replaced with “Champions Trophy“.

The format used in the Knock Out tournaments was different to the format used later in the Champions Trophy. The Knock Out was an instant knock out with no pools and the defeated team from each game was dropped from the competition. The tournament only included the eight highest-ranked One Day International (ODI) teams as of six months earlier ahead of the competition.

In 2013, it was announced that the 2013 Champions Trophy would be the last, replaced in the cricketing calendar by the ICC World Test Championship. However, in early January 2014, the ICC confirmed that a Champions Trophy tournament was to be held in 2017 and the planned World Test Championship has been called off.

The following Champions Trophy due to be played in 2021 in India was canceled. Pakistan, which has been starved of international cricket recently owing to security reasons, has been selected to host the 50-over Champions Trophy in 2025. In 2029 India will host the event.

Upcoming Tournaments

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite