Topend Sports Logo

West Indies at the World Cup

The West Indies cricket team is a geographically based confederation which includes the member countries: Jamaica; Barbados; Guyana; Trinidad and Tobago; Antigua and Barbuda; St. Kitt's-Nevis; Dominica; St. Lucia; St. Vincent and the Grenadines; Anguilla; Montserrat; and Grenada. Each country by itself has too small a population to field a competitive international team.

The West Indies team appeared in all World Cup tournaments from the first in 1975 until 2019. The West Indies team won the first two tournaments, in 1975 and 1979. For the 2023 tournament, the West Indies failed to qualify for the Cricket World Cup for the first time.


Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

ICC Cricket World Cup

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite