Topend Sports Logo

2006 Baseball World Classic - San Diego

The 2006 Baseball World Classic was the first time the tournament was held. The 16 invited teams were:

Australia, Canada, China, Chinese Taipei, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, Panama, Puerto Rico, South Africa, South Korea, United States, and Venezuela.

The winner was Japan.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

More Baseball

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite