Topend Sports Logo

Women's Ballon d'Or (Ballon d'Or Féminin)

The Women's Ballon d'Or award (in French the Ballon d'Or Féminin) is an annual football award for the best female player over the previous season. The men's award was first awarded in 1956. The first women's Ballon d'Or award was given in 2018 (and none in 2020). There is also a similar FIFA female player of the year awarded annually.

List of Women's Ballon d'Or (Ballon d'Or Féminin) award winners

year player Nationality club
2023 Aitana Bonmati Spain Barcelona
2022 Alexia Putellas Spain Barcelona
2021 Alexia Putellas Spain Barcelona
2020 not awarded
2019 Megan Rapinoe USA Reign FC
2018 Ada Hegerberg Norway Olympique Lyonnais

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

More Football

Football (some call it soccer) is the world's most popular sport. There are many major football tournaments, the pinnacle is the FIFA World Cup. See a calendar of what is coming up. There have been many legends of the game, particularly winners of the Ballon d'Or. For players, there are articles about Football Fitness and Fitness Testing.

Sport Extra

Check out the 800+ sports in the Encyclopedia of Every Sport. Well not every sport, as there is a list of unusual sports, extinct sports and newly created sports. How to get on these lists? See What is a sport? We also have sports winners lists, and about major sports events and a summary of every year.

 → How to Cite