Twenty20 History: South Africa 2007

Twenty20 cricket is a relatively new playing format for cricket, and has rapidly become one of the most popular forms. The inaugural International Cricket Council (ICC) World Twenty20 Tournament was played in South Africa in 2007, starting at the Wanderers ground, Johannesburg on Tuesday, 11 September 2007.

This was the first time that the Twenty20 format of the game was played on a truly global scale.

The competition involved 12 nations, and was played over 13 days. The first match was between the hosts, South Africa and the West Indies. The final was also held at the Wanderers on Heritage Day, Monday, 24 September 2007. The tournament was be played in three venues around the country, the Wanderers, Johannesburg; Kingsmead, Durban and Newlands, and Cape Town.

The final was won by India, beating Pakistan by 5 runs.

Related Pages