Topend Sports Logo

AFL Brownlow Medal

The Brownlow Medal (official title: Charles Brownlow Trophy) is awarded to the 'fairest and best' player in the AFL during the regular season (i.e. does not include finals matches). The Medal was named after Charles Brownlow, a Geelong player and long-serving administrator from the early days of the VFL (Victorian Football League).

AFL game at the MCG AFL game at the MCG

Voting System

For the first 10 years that the Medal was awarded, the votes were decided by the media. The voting is currently decided upon by the field umpires. There have been a couple of different voting systems. From 1924-1930 only one vote was awarded per game. From 1931 to the present, there are six votes awarded per game: 3, 2 and 1 for the top three players. However, in 1976 and 77 there were 12 votes per game: 3, 2 and 1 from each of the two field umpires.

Players who are suspended at some time during the season are ineligible for the award, though their votes are still counted.

See Brownlow Medal winner's list.


Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Sport Extra

Check out the 800+ sports in the Encyclopedia of Every Sport. Well not every sport, as there is a list of unusual sports, extinct sports and newly created sports. How to get on these lists? See What is a sport? We also have sports winners lists, and about major sports events and a summary of every year.

 → How to Cite