AFL Finals System

The current AFL finals system was devised by the Australian Football League in 2000 as its end-of-season championship playoff. The system is a revision of the McIntyre Final Eight System, devised by Kenneth McIntyre, in which the top eight 8 finishers in the competition playoff to determine which two teams will play in the Grand Final.

How it works

Week one

In Week One the top four teams play the two Qualifying Finals, with the winners getting a bye through to Week Three of the tournament, while the losers get home games in Week Two. The bottom four teams play the two Elimination Finals, where the winners advance to Week Two away games and the losers are out of the finals race:

Week Two

Week Three

Week Four

Related Pages