Topend Sports Logo


Diving is the sport of falling or jumping off a high platform or springboard. In diving there are six types of dives the athletes can perform: Forward, Backward, Reverse, Inward, Twisting, and Arm stand. The divers are judged by a panel consisting of between seven and nine judges, who have to score each dive on a scale of 0-10, based on the quality of each dive performed.

At the World Championships, athletes contest the following competition:


diver spring board diving

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

More Diving

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite