Topend Sports Logo

UEFA Super Cup

The UEFA Super Cup is an annual football match organized by UEFA, and contested by the reigning champions of the top two European club competitions, the UEFA Champions League and the UEFA Europa League. The first event was held in 1973 (in 1972 there was a match but it was not officially recognized by UEFA). No tournaments were held in 1974, 1981 and 1985. Since 1998, the competition has involved just a single match, which is now only contested in a neutral venue.

From 1973 to 1999, the UEFA Super Cup was contested between the winners of the Champions League winners and the winners of the UEFA Cup Winners' Cup (which has now been discontinued).

Two teams have won the cup five times each, Barcelona (1992, 1997, 2009, 2011, 2015) and Milan (1989, 1990, 1994, 2003, 2007). Real Madrid and Liverpool have won the title four times each. Spanish teams are the most successful by far.

Recent Events

Next Event

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

More Football

Football (some call it soccer) is the world's most popular sport. There are many major football tournaments, the pinnacle is the FIFA World Cup. See a calendar of what is coming up. There have been many legends of the game, particularly winners of the Ballon d'Or. For players, there are articles about Football Fitness and Fitness Testing.

 → How to Cite