Formula 1 World Drivers' Champions (WDC)

The Formula One World Drivers' Championship is awarded by the Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile to the most successful driver over a season, as determined by a points system based on individual Grand Prix results. The Drivers' Championship was first awarded in 1950. German driver Michael Schumacher and ritish driver Lewis Hamilton hold the record for most titles, at seven each.

Winners of the F1 Driver's Championship

Season Driver Team
2021 Max Verstappen Red Bull
2020 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2019 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2018 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2017 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2016 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
2015 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2014 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2013 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull
2012 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull
2011 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull
2010 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull
2009 Jenson Button Brawn
2008 Lewis Hamilton McLaren
2007 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari
2006 Fernando Alonso Renault
2005 Fernando Alonso Renault
2004 Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2003 Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2002 Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2001 Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2000 Michael Schumacher Ferrari
1999 Mika Häkkinen McLaren
1998 Mika Häkkinen McLaren
1997 Jacques Villeneuve Williams
1996 Damon Hill Williams
1995 Michael Schumacher Benetton
1994 Michael Schumacher Benetton
1993 Alain Prost Williams
1992 Nigel Mansell Williams
1991 Ayrton Senna McLaren
1990 Ayrton Senna McLaren
1989 Alain Prost McLaren
1988 Ayrton Senna McLaren
1987 Nelson Piquet Williams
1986 Alain Prost McLaren
1985 Alain Prost McLaren
1984 Niki Lauda McLaren
1983 Nelson Piquet Brabham
1982 Keke Rosberg Williams
1981 Nelson Piquet Brabham
1980 Alan Jones Williams
1979 Jody Scheckter Ferrari
1978 Mario Andretti Lotus
1977 Niki Lauda Ferrari
1976 James Hunt McLaren
1975 Niki Lauda Ferrari
1974 Emerson Fittipaldi McLaren
1973 Jackie Stewart Tyrrell
1972 Emerson Fittipaldi Lotus
1971 Jackie Stewart Tyrrell
1970 Jochen Rindt Lotus
1969 Jackie Stewart Matra
1968 Graham Hill Lotus
1967 Denny Hulme Brabham
1966 Jack Brabham Brabham
1965 Jim Clark Lotus
1964 John Surtees Ferrari
1963 Jim Clark Lotus
1962 Graham Hill BRM
1961 Phil Hill Ferrari
1960 Jack Brabham Cooper
1959 Jack Brabham Cooper
1958 Mike Hawthorn Ferrari
1957 Juan Manuel Fangio Maserati
1956 Juan Manuel Fangio Ferrari
1955 Juan Manuel Fangio Mercedes
1954 Juan Manuel Fangio Maserati2
1953 Alberto Ascari Ferrari
1952 Alberto Ascari Ferrari
1951 Juan Manuel Fangio Alfa Romeo
1950 Giuseppe Farina Alfa Romeo

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite