Topend Sports Logo

Triple Crown of Motorsport

The Triple Crown is an unofficial title for drivers who have won three of the world’s most prestigious motor races throughout their motor racing career. Those three events are the Indianapolis 500, the 24 Hours of Le Mans, and the Monaco Grand Prix.

The FIA World Championship of Drivers, equivalent to today’s Formula One, once included the Monaco and Indianapolis events in the World Championship Series. However, in 1961, the Indianapolis was dropped. In 1987, the Monaco race was moved forward two weeks later than usual. These events caused the Indianapolis and the Monaco race to be held on the same day.

There were 17 drivers who competed in all three races and had won at least one of the races. Juan Pablo Montoya was the only driver to have successfully won two of the three races. Graham Hill is the only driver to have accomplished the Triple Crown of Motorsport.

Other racing events have their own versions of triple crowns. In endurance racing there is the Le Mans, 24 Hours of Daytona and the 12 Hours of Sebring. In IndyCar racing the Triple Crown consists of the Indianapolis 500, the Pocono 500, and the California 500. 

Interesting Fact: Some define the Triple Crown using the Formula One World Championship and not the Monaco Grand Prix. Even so, Graham Hill is still the only driver to have achieved this title.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite