Topend Sports Logo

Golf Presidents Cup

The Presidents Cup is a match play tournament between a team representing the United States and an International Team representing the rest of the world (minus Europe), created and organized by the PGA Tour. The event is held every two years, hosted alternately in the USA and in countries represented by the International Team.

The Presidents Cup has been held biennially since 1994. Initially it was held in even numbered years (with the Ryder Cup in odd numbered years), however, the cancellation of the 2001 Ryder Cup due to the September 11 attacks pushed both tournaments back a year, and the Presidents Cup was held in odd numbered years. until 2020 when it was put postponed again, this time due to the Coronavirus pandemic and is now back on even number years.

The counterpart of the Presidents Cup is the Ryder Cup, which is an older tournament. The format of the Presidents Cup differs from the Ryder Cup mainly in that it includes an extra six matches.

Up until 2015, the USA had won all but one event, in 1998. The 2003 Presidents Cup ended in a tie. See all Winners List. See also the Presidents Cup Venues, past and future.


Future Tournaments

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

More Golf

Golf is a popular recreational game around the world. There are many ways to play golf. It is played by legends of the sport at the Olympics and the Majors. You can use Psychology, Physics, and Technology to improve your game. Fitness and Fitness Testing can fine-tune your performance, Nutrition to fine-tune your body.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite