The Central American Games

The Central American Games (CAGs) are made up of 7 participating countries from Central America – Panama, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Honduras, Belize, and Guatemala). The first edition of the CAGs was held in Guatemala in 1973.

This multi-sport regional championship is held every four years, the year following the Summer Olympics.
Organizacion Deportiva Centroamericana (ORDECA) organizes CAG. To participate, athletes must be entered by their National Olympic Committee.

The CAG has a tradition rather similar to the Olympic Flame, it being ignited in Q’umarkaj, one of the ancient cultural Mayan centers in El Quiché, Guatemala.

There had been issues with the Games from people and organizations, criticizing the CAG for not including the oldest ball sport in the continent, Mesoamerican Ballgame, on the sports program.

Over the years, participating athletes have increased. From the first Games in 1973, there were 966 athletes. In 2013, a total of 1,739 took part in the CAGs.

There had been 10 editions of The Games, the last was in 2013 in San José, Costa Rica.

List of Sports in Central American Games





Roller Sports



The next Central American Games

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite