Olympic Racquets or Rackets

Racquets (also known as Rackets) was an early form of the game now known as racquetball. It once appeared on the Olympic program, in 1908. The competition was dominated by Great Britain, who won all three medals in both singles and doubles. A similar sport, Squash, is vying for inclusion in the 2020 Olympic Games.



In the final, Evan Noel won on a walk over, after Henry Leaf had to withdraw due to an injury to his hand sustained during the doubles competition.

  1. Evan Noel GBR
  2. Henry Leaf GBR
  3. John Jacob Astor GBR
  4. Henry Brougham GBR


In the final, Pennell and Astor beat Bury and Browning 6-15, 15-7, 16-15, 15-6, 15-7.

  1. Vane Pennell / John Jacob Astor GBR
  2. Edmund Bury / Cecil Browning GBR
  3. Evan Noel / Henry Leaf GBR


Related Pages

Popular Content


Olympics Extra

The next Olympics will be the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games, followed by the Winter Olympics 2022 in Beijing. Check out the list of olympic sports, as well as discontinued and demonstration sports.

How to Cite