Cricket at the Commonwealth Games

Cricket has only been contested at the Commonwealth Games once, for the 1998 Kuala Lumpur Commonwealth Games, though is making a comeback and will be returning to the Commonwealth Games program in 2022. The 1988 tournament was for men, the 2020 event is for women only.

2020 cricket tournament

A women's T20 cricket tournament has been added to the program for the 2022 Commonwealth Games. The tournament will take place between eight teams at the Edgbaston cricket ground.

1988 cricket tournament

The 1988 Commonwealth Games cricket tournament was held in the ODI format, 50 overs per side. The event was won by South Africa, defeating Australia in the final. New Zealand won the bronze medal. Sixteen teams participated in the 1988 tournament, including many non-test cricket nations such as Kenya, Scotland, Malaysia and Northern Ireland. However, England chose not to send a team due to the clash with County cricket.



Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions or corrections? Please let us know.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

How to Cite