Topend Sports Logo

Premier12 World Championships

The Premier12 World Championships is a new flagship men’s national team baseball event. The inaugural Premier 12 World Championship was held in 8-21 November, 2015.

The top twelve ranked countries to take part in the inaugural tournament were USA, Japan, Cuba, Chinese Taipei, Dominican Republic, The Netherlands, Canada, South Korea, Puerto Rico, Venezuela, Italy, Mexico.

This event is planned to be held every four years, and will be converted into baseball’s highest-ranked international competition. The Premier 12 champion will be awarded baseball’s major prize of World Ranking bonus points.

The Premier 12 national teams split into two groups of six and embark on the tournament with a round-robin format. The top four countries from every group progress to the next set, which begins the single-elimination knockout stages – quarterfinals, semifinals and gold-medal final.

2019 WBSC Premier12, played in Japan, Mexico, Taiwan and South Korea, was used as a qualifying tournament for the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games.

The next Premier12 Event

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite