Who is the All Time Greatest Hockey Player?

We are compiling a list of the greatest athletes from the sport of field hockey, which will then be voted on and the winner placed on the shortlist of the all time greatest athlete ever (all sports). The first stage is to get nominations for field hockey before the vote is started. See the current list below of top athletes, compiled using other published lists and visitor feedback. The list includes both male and female players. If you believe that there is someone missing from this list, please place a comment below, including any relevant details about the person.

Is it Major Dhyan Chand?

Major Dhyan Chand may well be the greatest hockey players ever. I don't understand why so many comments are asking for him to be excluded from this list - if he really is the greatest, then he needs to be on a list of greatest players ever, and possibly on the top of this list! The greatest recent player is Australian Jamie Dwyer, winner of the FIH international player of the year five times.

Field Hockey Greatest Players

The athletes below are listed in alphabetical order - once the shortlist is complete then you will be able to vote for who you think is the greatest of all. This list is not complete - if you know of someone who should be listed here, let us know using the comment form below.


name notes
Dhanraj Pillay
Dhyan Chand Indian player, regarded as one of the best ever. He was a member of the Indian gold medal winning teams at the 1928, 1932 and 1936 Olympics, the last of which he captained.
Florian Kunz Germany
Hassan Sardar
Islahuddin Siddiqui Pakistan
Jamie Dwyer Played for Australia. Five times FIH international player of the year
Manzoor Hussain, Junior  played for Pakistan from 1975 to 1984
Mohammed Shahid
Rick Charlesworth Australia
Sean Kerly UK
Shahbaz Ahmed (Snr) Ahmed joined the Pakistan National Hockey Team in 1986, and was captain of the national side for the 1994 Men's Hockey World Cup victory. He is the only player to win two consecutive World Cup player of the tournament awards(1990 and 1994). Represented pakistan a record 304 times.
Teun de Nooijer Netherlands. 3 times FIH international player of the year


name notes
Alyson Annan Australia. Winner of the FIH international player of the year in 1998 and 2000.
Beth Anders USA
Carina Benninga Netherlands
Vanina Oneto Argentina
Luciana Aymar Argentinian player, 7 time winner of the FIH international player of the year

Related Pages

Old Comments